Money Clarity

    RBI banned prepayment charges. Here is what it actually covers.

    From 1 January 2026, lenders cannot levy prepayment or foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans granted to individuals for purposes other than business. There is no lock-in period and it applies regardless of where the repayment money comes from. Fixed-rate loans are not covered.

    What is covered

    The scope is specific, and the specifics are what decide whether it applies to you.

    • Floating-rate loans sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026
    • Loans to individuals for purposes other than business, with or without co-obligants
    • No minimum holding period before prepayment is allowed
    • Applies irrespective of the source of the funds used to repay
    • Where the lender initiates the prepayment, no charge may be levied at all

    What is not covered

    The gaps matter as much as the coverage, and this is where most confusion sits.

    • Fixed-rate loans - lenders may still charge prepayment fees on these
    • Loans sanctioned before 1 January 2026 unless renewed after that date
    • Business-purpose loans to individuals fall under separate provisions
    • For MSE and business loans, commercial banks are barred, while Small Finance Banks, Regional Rural Banks and NBFCs face limits tied to loan size - no charges on amounts up to Rs 50 lakh

    The disclosure rule that protects you

    This provision gets less attention than the ban itself and is arguably more useful day to day.

    • Prepayment charge rules must be stated in the sanction letter, the loan agreement and the Key Facts Statement
    • A charge that was not disclosed in those documents cannot be collected
    • If a lender quotes a foreclosure charge, ask where it appears in your sanction letter
    • Keep the Key Facts Statement - it is the document that settles disputes

    What to do about it

    The rule lowers the cost of leaving a badly priced loan, which changes the arithmetic for a lot of borrowers.

    • Check your loan agreement for whether your rate is fixed or floating - this decides everything
    • Check the sanction date, and whether the loan has been renewed since
    • If it is floating and post-January 2026, exiting should cost you nothing in lender charges
    • The new lender may still charge a processing fee, typically 1 to 2 percent - that cost has not gone away

    Common questions

    Does the RBI prepayment rule apply to my existing loan?

    Only if it is a floating-rate loan sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026. Loans sanctioned before that date are not covered unless they have been renewed since, and fixed-rate loans are not covered at all.

    Can a bank still charge me a foreclosure fee?

    On a fixed-rate loan, yes. On a covered floating-rate loan, no. And in every case, a charge that was not disclosed in your sanction letter, loan agreement or Key Facts Statement cannot be collected - so ask to be shown where it appears.

    Is there a minimum period before I can prepay?

    No. For covered loans the rule specifies no minimum lock-in, and it applies irrespective of the source of the funds used to repay.

    The exit door on most floating-rate personal loans is now free. That does not automatically make switching right, but it removes the charge that used to make a marginal case not worth it.

    Written by Danish Mirza, founder of Unyfy. 14 years in Indian lending and collections at Standard Chartered, Barclays, Ola Money and Uni Cards.
    Last reviewed 2026-09-08.

    Our Partners

    Partnered with India's Leading Banks & NBFCs

    We work with the most trusted financial institutions to bring you the best loan offers.

    HDFC Bank logo
    ICICI Bank logo
    Axis Bank
    State Bank of India logo
    IDFC First Bank logo
    Kotak Mahindra logo
    IndusInd Bank logo
    Yes Bank logo
    Bajaj Finserv logo
    Tata Capital logo

    50,000+

    Happy Customers

    ₹500 Cr+

    Loans Disbursed

    4.8/5

    Customer Rating